IAHR, founded in 1935, is a worldwide independent member-based organisation of engineers and water specialists working in fields related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application. Activities range from river and maritime hydraulics to water resources development and eco-hydraulics, through to ice engineering, hydroinformatics, and hydraulic machinery.
Log On
About IAHRDirectoryCommitteesMy IAHRNews & JournalseLibraryeShopEventsJoin IAHRWorld CongressDonate
You are here : Home : News List
Go Back...

IAHR World Congress in Chengdu beats records! Congress highlights.
Bookmark and Share

IAHR 2013 Chengdu World Congress Beats Records!
Over 1500 participants took part in the recent IAHR Congress in Chengdu, China (September 8-13) which was entitled "the wise find pleasure in water". The Congress was opened by Vice Minister of Water Reosurces Dr JAIO Yong and the IAHR general lecturer was Dr Gretchen Kalonji, UNESCO Assistant Director General for Natural Sciences. A full review of the Congress will be included in the next IAHR Hydrolink magazine. To see a sample copy of Hydrolink click here.

International Water Associations Forum Sign Joint Declaration on Global Water Security
The Chengdu congress was also venue for a joint declaration on global water security by senior representatives of seven leading international water associations. The associations have agreed to work with other stakeholders to call for action to improve water security focussing on policy, education, research and practice.
To see the Chengdu Declaration click here.

2000 years-old Dujiangyan Irrigation project receives IAHR Hydro-Environment World Heritage Award
The IAHR Heritage Award established in 2012 is conferred by the IAHR Council during the World Congress on a local infrastructure of lasting and international importance. It has the purpose of giving  public recognition to the work of local hydro-environment engineers.The first winner is the world famous UNESCO heritage Dujiangyan Irrigation project in Sichuan, China

IAHR 2013 Awards Announced in Chengdu Congress
  • Honorary Membership  
Prof.Willi Hager, Switzerland
Prof.Wolfgang Rodi, Institute for Hydromechanics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Prof. Nobuyuki Tamai, The University of Tokyo, Japan

Click here to read more.
  • 18th Arthur Thomas Ippen Award
Prof.George Constantinescu, IIHR - Hydraulics and Engineering, University of Iowa, USA

Click here to read more about the Award and the 18th Ippen Lecture.

  • 4th Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award
 Prof.Yasuyuki Shimizu, Hokkaido University, Japan

Click here to read more about the Award
  • John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition
First Prize: Sylvie Van Emelen, Catholic University of Louvain, Louvain, Belgium
Second Prize: Rafael Duarte, Laboratory of Hydraulic Constructions (LCH), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Third Prize: Mengzhen Xu, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Click here to read more about the Award and the awarded papers.
  • 17th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award
Dr Valentin Heller, Imperial College London, UK
Prof. Heidi Nepf, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Click here to read more about the Award

  • 2013 Willi H. Hager JHR Best Reviewer Award
Dr Stuart Cameron, University of Aberdeen, UK
Dr Oscar Castro-Orgaz, Instituto de Agricultura Sostenible, Spain
Dr Stefano Pagliara, University of Pisa, Italy

Click here to read more
  • 2013 JRBM Best Paper Award
Hans C. Komakech, Pieter Van der Zaag, Marloes L. Mul, Tulinumpoki A., Mwakalukwa & Jeltsje S. Kemerink (2012): "Formalization of water allocation systems and impacts on local practices in the Hingilili sub-catchment, Tanzania", International Journal of River Basin  Management, 10:3, 213-227

Click here to read more

To read more about 2013 Awards click here

IAHR Media Library
01 January 2020 - 30 December 2020
14th International Conference on Hydroinformatics
18 January 2020 - 18 December 2020
30th IAHR Symposium on Hydraulic Machinery and Systems
17 August 2020 - 19 August 2020
8th International Conference on Flood Management (ICFM)
See all Events