IAHR, founded in 1935, is a worldwide independent member-based organisation of engineers and water specialists working in fields related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application. Activities range from river and maritime hydraulics to water resources development and eco-hydraulics, through to ice engineering, hydroinformatics, and hydraulic machinery.
Log On
About IAHRDirectoryCommitteesMy IAHRNews & JournalseLibraryeShopEventsJoin IAHRWorld CongressDonate
spacer.gif About IAHR
spacer.gif IAHR Council
spacer.gif Regional Divisions
spacer.gif Technical Divisions
spacer.gif National / Regional Chapters
spacer.gif Young Professionals Networks
spacer.gif Governance
spacer.gif Awards
spacer.gif 2017 Awardees
spacer.gif Honorary Membership
spacer.gif M. Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award
spacer.gif Arthur Ippen Award
spacer.gif Harold Jan Schoemaker Award
spacer.gif John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition
spacer.gif Willi H. Hager JHR Best Reviewer Award
spacer.gif JRBM Best Paper Award
spacer.gif RIBAGUA Best Paper Award
spacer.gif World Heritage Award
spacer.gif World Industry Innovation Award
spacer.gif Obituaries
spacer.gif IAHR Secretariat
spacer.gif Partners
spacer.gif Advertise with us
spacer.gif Downloads
spacer.gif Contact us
spacer.gif ED Search
You are here : Awards : Harold Jan Schoemaker Award

Harold Jan Schoemaker Award

IAHR members are invited to submit candidates for nomination for the Harold Jan Schoemaker Award. This Award is made at the IAHR World Congress to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding paper published in the IAHR Journal of Hydraulic Research in the two years preceeding the Congress. A proposal for nomination shall be completed with a clear argumentation (maximum one page) regarding its outstanding quality and why the paper is of such a specific quality that it outweighs the other papers of the considered series.

Founding statement

The Schoemaker Award was established by the IAHR Council in 1980 to recognise the efforts made by Professor Schoemaker, Secretary (1960-1979), in guiding the Journal of Hydraulic Research in its formative years. The Award is made biennially by the IAHR to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding paper published in the IAHR Journal.

Rules for the administration of the Award

  • The Harold Jan Schoemaker Award (hereinafter referred to as the Award) will be made at each world IAHR Congress, to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding and published in the IAHR Journal during the preceding two-year period.
  • The awardee will be selected by the IAHR Council from a list of not more than three ranked nominees submitted to the Council by a Committee (hereinafter referred to as the Award Committee) composed of the Technical Division Secretaries and chaired by a Council member. The Award Committee will actively seek nominations of awardees from the IAHR membership (also non-members whose employers are corporate members will be considered) and will publish at least annually an advertisement calling for nominations. The advertisement will include a brief description of the supporting material which is to accompany nominations.
  • The awardee will be selected by the Council by mail ballot. Balloting shall close eight weeks after the Executive Director mails the ballots. The awardee(s) shall be notified immediately by the Executive Director.
  • An award need not be made during any biennium in which the Council considers none of the nominees to be of sufficient high quality.
  • The award will consist of a bronze medal and a certificate.
Initial contact regarding nominations for the Award should be made with:
IAHR Secretariat
E-mail: iahr@iahr.org
Tel.: +34 91 335 7908
Nominations should be submitted before January 15th, of the year of the World Congress (unless otherwise notified in IAHR media)

List of previous winners

Name Title best paper in JHR
B. Vowinckel (2017)
R. Jain (2017)
T. Kempe (2017)
J. Fröhlich (2017)
Entrainment of single particles in a turbulent open-channel flow: a numerical study” J. Hydraul. Res., 2016, 54(2), 1578-17. Click here for the paper
T. Stoesser (2015)
Large-eddy simulation in hydraulics: Quo Vadis?, 2014, 52(4), pp 441-452. Click here
V. Heller (2013)

H. Nepf (2013)
Scale effects in physical hydraulic engineering models, 2011, 49(3), pp293-306.  Click here
Hydrodynamics of vegetated channels, 2012, 50(3), pp 262-279. Click here 
U.C. Kothyari, H. Hashimoto,
K. Hayashi (2011)
Effect of tall vegetation on sediment transport by channel flows
(Vol. 47, 2009, No. 6). Click here
H. Morvan, D.W. Knight, N.Wright,
X. Tang, A.Crossley (2009)
The Concept of Roughness in fluvial hydraulics and its formulation in 1D, 2D, and 3D numerical simulation models 
(Vol. 46, 2008, No.2). Click here
K. Blankaert and U. Lemmin (2007)

E.J. Wannamaker and E.E. Adams (2007)
Means of noise reduction in acoustic turbulence measurements
(Vol. 44, 2006, no. 1). Click here
Modelling descending carbon dioxide injections in the ocean
(Vol. 44, 2006, no. 3). Click here
A. Carrasco and C.A.Vionnet (2005)
Separation of Scales on a Broad Shallow Turbulent Flow
(Vol. 42, 2004, no. 6). Click here
S. Kostic and G. Parker (2003)
Progradational sand-mud deltas in lakes and reservoirs 
- Part I: Theory and numerical modelling. Click here
- Part II: Experiment and numerical simulation 
(Vol. 41, 2003, no. 2). Click here
K.F. Bradbrook, S.N. Lane, K.S.
Richards, P.M. Biron, A.G. Roy
B.P. Greimann, M. Muste, F.M
Holly, Jr. (2001)
Large eddy simulation of periodic flow characteristics at river channel 
(Vol. 38, 2000, no. 3). Click here

Two-phase formulation of suspended sediment transport 
(Vol. 37, 1999, no. 4). Click here
G. Parker, Y. Cui (1999)
The arrested gravel front: stable gravel-sand transitions in rivers – Part I: Simplified analytical solution. Click here
and Part II: General numerical solution 
(Vol. 36, 1998, no. 1&2). Click here
H. Kamide, Y. Ieda, J. Kobayashi
H. Ninokata (1997)
Benchmark exercise for multi-dimensional thermohydraulic 
analysis codes - Buoyancy driven penetration flow phenomena and thermal stratification.  
(Vol. 34, 1996, no.3). Click here
Ph. Coussot (1995)
Steady, laminar flow of concentrated mud suspensions in open channel 
(Vol. 32, 1994, no. 4). Click here
R.J. Keller, K.C. Tam, C. Tiu (1993)
A general correlation for turbulent velocity profiles of dilute polymer solutions
(Vol. 30, 1992, no. 1). Click here
H.F. Cheong, N.J. Shankar, K. Subbiah (1991)
Inertia dominated forces on submarine pipelines near seabed
(Vol. 27, 1989, no. 1). Click here
R.I. Nokes, I.R. Wood (1989)
Turbulent dispersion of a steady discharge of positively or negatively buoyant particles in two dimensions
(Vol. 25, 1987, no. 1). Click here
N. Struiksma, K.W. Olesen, C. Flokstra, H.J. de Vriend (1987)
Bed deformation in curved alluvial channels
(Vol. 23, 1985, no. 1). Click here
W. Hauenstein, Th. Dracos (1985)
Investigation of plunging density currents generated by inflows in lakes 
(Vol. 22, 1984, no. 3). Click here
N.L. Coleman (1983)
Velocity profiles with suspended sediment 
(Vol. 19, 1981, no. 3). Click here
M.B. Abbott, H. Petersen, O. Skovgaard (1981)
On the numerical modelling of short waves in shallow water 
(Vol. 16, 1978, no. 3). Click here