IAHR, founded in 1935, is a worldwide independent member-based organisation of engineers and water specialists working in fields related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application. Activities range from river and maritime hydraulics to water resources development and eco-hydraulics, through to ice engineering, hydroinformatics, and hydraulic machinery.
Log On
About IAHRDirectoryCommitteesMy IAHRNews & JournalseLibraryeShopEventsJoin IAHRWorld CongressDonate
spacer.gif About IAHR
spacer.gif IAHR Council
spacer.gif Regional Divisions
spacer.gif Asia & Pacific
spacer.gif Latin America
spacer.gif Africa
spacer.gif Europe
spacer.gif Middle East & North Africa
spacer.gif Technical Divisions
spacer.gif National / Regional Chapters
spacer.gif Young Professionals Networks
spacer.gif Governance
spacer.gif Awards
spacer.gif Obituaries
spacer.gif IAHR Secretariat
spacer.gif Partners
spacer.gif Advertise with us
spacer.gif Downloads
spacer.gif Contact us
spacer.gif ED Search
You are here : Regional Divisions : Europe

IAHR Europe Regional Division


Next Events & Activities

  • Invitation for Proposals for hosting IAHR Europe Congress in 2022: IAHR Members are invited to submit proposals for hosting the 2022 IAHR Europe Congress. The deadline for submitting the proposals is January 31st, 2019
    The proposal must be submitted using the form (download the form here) to the IAHR Secretariat c/o Elsa Incio, Paseo Bajo Virgen del Puerto 3, 28005 Madrid, Spain, or email elsa.incio@iahr.org
  • 6th IAHR Europe Congress "Hydro-environment Research and Engineering - No Frames, No Borders", Warsaw, Poland, 30 June - 2 July 2020. Chair: Prof. Pawel Rowinski Contact: iahr2020@igf.edu.pl  Website  Promotional Video
  • Data collection on EU-founded Research Projects - Survey More info
  • Young Professionals Networks in Europe More info
  • IAHR Hydro-Environment Europe Division Heritage Award More info

Leadership Team 2018 - 2020


2nd University of Naples
Department of Civil Engineering

Vice Chair

Vice President of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAN) and Professor of Institute of Geophysics (IGF) 

Past Chair

Prof. Dr. Anton Schleiss
Laboratoire de constructions hydrauliques 
email anton.schleiss@epfl.ch

List of Past Chairs

2016 - to present Prof. Corrado Gisonni


Co-opted Members

Division Programme Officer

Past Events & Activities

New Europe Division Award: Gerhard Jirka Award for Young Researchers

Click here for more information.

IAHR Hydro-Environment Europe Division Heritage Award

The IAHR Regional Hydro-Environment Heritage Award is conferred by IAHR during one or more of the Europe Division Congresses on a local infrastructure of lasting and international importance. It has the purpose of giving international professional recognition to the work of local hydro-environment engineers, and should demonstrably have stood the test of time (and be at least one hundred years old) and be accepted and valued nationally.
2016: The European Division of IAHR bestows the 1st Industry Innovation Award to the Construction of the 4th lock of Lanaye during the 4th IAHR Europe Congress in Liege, July 2016

Presentation of the 4th Lock of Layanne by Yvon Loyaerts (Director General)   

Benjamin Dewals (LOC), Corrado Gisonni (Chair), Anton Schleiss (Past Chair) and Yvon Loyaerts (Director General of the 4th Lock of Layanne) during the award ceremony

Related Links
Directory of Members
Community Area (only for members)
Newsflash Europe
European Young Professionals Networks
Hydralab +
Institute Membership
Hydrolink Members Magazine