IAHR, founded in 1935, is a worldwide independent member-based organisation of engineers and water specialists working in fields related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application. Activities range from river and maritime hydraulics to water resources development and eco-hydraulics, through to ice engineering, hydroinformatics, and hydraulic machinery.
Log On
About IAHRDirectoryCommitteesMy IAHRNews & JournalseLibraryeShopEventsJoin IAHRWorld CongressDonate
spacer.gif About IAHR
spacer.gif IAHR Council
spacer.gif Regional Divisions
spacer.gif Technical Divisions
spacer.gif National / Regional Chapters
spacer.gif Young Professionals Networks
spacer.gif Governance
spacer.gif Awards
spacer.gif 2017 Awardees
spacer.gif Honorary Membership
spacer.gif M. Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award
spacer.gif Arthur Ippen Award
spacer.gif Harold Jan Schoemaker Award
spacer.gif John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition
spacer.gif Willi H. Hager JHR Best Reviewer Award
spacer.gif JRBM Best Paper Award
spacer.gif RIBAGUA Best Paper Award
spacer.gif World Heritage Award
spacer.gif World Industry Innovation Award
spacer.gif Obituaries
spacer.gif IAHR Secretariat
spacer.gif Partners
spacer.gif Advertise with us
spacer.gif Downloads
spacer.gif Contact us
spacer.gif ED Search
You are here : Awards : 2015 Awards

Awards at the 36th IAHR World Congress, The Hague, 2015 

Bookmark and Share

Honorary Membership

Jean Paul Chabard
In recognition of his outstanding contribution in promoting the development of numerical simulation tools both for free-surface flows and for thermal-hydraulic applications, and for his devoted service to IAHR in various capacities including chair of the Fluid Phenomena and Energy Exchanges committee, to more recently service as Vice President during the period 2001-2005 and 2007-2011.

Joseph Hun-Wei Lee
In recognition of his outstanding achievements in environmental hydraulics and in particular to the theory of buoyant jets and its application to environmental engineering, and to his service to the Association most recently as Vice President from 2007-2011 and most recently as Editor-in –Chief of the Journal of Hydro-environment Research.

Mariano Navas
In recognition of his outstanding achievements to port and harbour engineering in his country, and to his loyal and unwavering support to the IAHR secretariat in Madrid during a period of global economic turmoil.

More info

5th M. Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award

for enduring theoretical, experimental and modeling contributions to the understanding of sediment and debris transport processes and excellence in graduate teaching and advancement of academic programs in hydraulic engineering.

More info

19th Arthur Ippen Award

for outstanding contributions in the field of fluid mechanics with special emphasis on turbulence modeling for addressing complex, real-life hydraulics problems

18th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award

Large-eddy simulation in hydraulics: Quo Vadis?, 2014, 52(4), pp 441-452

More info

12th John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition

David Ferras, Switzerland and Portugal
for paper Fluid-structure-interaction in pipe coils during hydraulic transients: numerical and experimental analysis Download
Pablo Ouro, UK
for paper Large-eddy simulation of vertical axis tidal turbines: study of the blockage effect

2015 Willi H. Hager JHR Best Reviewer Award

Dr Jorge Abad, USA
for outstanding reviews during the period 2012-2014
Dr Robert Bialik, Poland
for outstanding reviews during the period 2012-2014
Dr Wernher Brevis, UK
for outstanding reviews during the period 2012-2014
More info

JRBM Best Paper Award

More info

2015 IAHR Hydro-Environment World Heritage Award

Dutch Water Boards, The Netherlands