IAHR, founded in 1935, is a worldwide independent member-based organisation of engineers and water specialists working in fields related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application. Activities range from river and maritime hydraulics to water resources development and eco-hydraulics, through to ice engineering, hydroinformatics, and hydraulic machinery.
Log On
About IAHRDirectoryCommitteesMy IAHRNews & JournalseLibraryeShopEventsJoin IAHRWorld CongressDonate
spacer.gif About IAHR
spacer.gif IAHR Council
spacer.gif IAHR Past Presidents
spacer.gif Council Photos Directory
spacer.gif Regional Divisions
spacer.gif Technical Divisions
spacer.gif National / Regional Chapters
spacer.gif Young Professionals Networks
spacer.gif Governance
spacer.gif Awards
spacer.gif Obituaries
spacer.gif IAHR Secretariat
spacer.gif Partners
spacer.gif Advertise with us
spacer.gif Downloads
spacer.gif Contact us
spacer.gif ED Search
You are here : IAHR Council : 2015-2017 Council Election

Council Election 2015-2017

The IAHR Council has the task to promote the interests of the Association and co-ordinate the activities of its members serving the interests and needs of Hydro-environment Engineering and Research, both at global and at regional scale.

This includes long-range planning for the biennial World Congresses as well as co-ordination and interlinkage of activities of Regional and Technical Divisions and Committees, e.g. conferences, IAHR publications and Awards and promotion of continuing education, student chapters and short courses. Membership promotion, finances, IAHR secretariat liaison and links with institute members, industry and the profession are also important tasks, as well as relations with government agencies and other professional/technical societies and international organisations. 

Nominating Committee 2015

At its meeting in Porto, Portugal in April 2014, the IAHR Council identified a Nominating Committee (NC 2015) for the next Council election ahead of the next World Congress in The Hague, The Netherlands, June-July 2015. The Nominating Committee was chaired by Jean-Paul Chabard (France), former Vice President of IAHR, and comprised Daniel Farias (Argentina), Ana Maria da Silva (Canada), Heidi Nepf (USA), Bruce Melville (New Zealand), Yasuyuki Shimizu (Japan), Yong Sik Cho (Korea), Aronne Armanini (Italy), and Willi Hager (Switzerland). IAHR President Roger Falconer (UK) was the Council contact person.

The NC collected proposals from individual and institute members, searched itself for candidates, and evaluated the performance of current Council members in view of their possible re-election. It considered the alignment of candidates with Council composition requirements, including the question of progression of Council Members to Vice Presidential positions and to the Presidency.

It is the task of the NC to propose a list of candidates for the 2015 Council election, which includes Executive Committee positions (President, 3 Vice-Presidents and Secretary General) and regularly elected Council members. This list must reflect a balance between the possibly conflicting requirements of: world-wide representation of the IAHR membership and yet at the same time a small active group which is capable to lead the Association, and to fulfil Council assignments; continuous renewal through new members while assuring necessary continuity; and adequate representation of hydro-environment engineering practice. 

Nomination by Petition 

The NC Slate of Candidates has been circulated to all members by e.mail and members were given a period of two months to submit further proposals using "nomination by petition". By the published deadline no further proposals had been received.

2015 Final Slate of Candidates

Every two years the Council is elected by member ballot based on a slate of candidates proposed by a nominating committee with the subsequent possibility of further candidates nominated by petition.
The final slate of candidates for the election by member ballot is shown below in accordance with the By-Laws: 


 Members are invited to elect the new Council through written or electronic ballot before and at the The Hague Congress, closing on Wednesday 1st July, 2015.


Maria Galanty

Related Links
Hydrolink 3, 2014